top of page

Welcome to the website of James Y. Bartlett, an American author.

Please scroll below to learn more about Mr. Bartlett's several series and stand-alone novels, and click through to read more, find sample chapters and links to online retailers where you can purchase these books.

And please fill out the form to join Mr. Bartlett's mailing list. You will receive early notification of new book releases, occasional book sales and discounts and news from Mr, Bartlett's publisher, Yeoman House Books.

Join Our Mailing List

Thanks for subscribing!

Small Town

Small State

BIG Problems

The Swamp Yankee Mysteries are set in the town of Little Penwick, Rhode Island: the smallest town in the smallest state.

These page-turning action adventures and police procedurals focus on the father-son protagonists of Julius and Gus Haddock. Julius is the former chief of police in Little Penwick, now semi-retired and working as a private investigator. Gus took over 'the family business' returning from several tours of duty abroad with the Army Rangers to take over as chief from his Dad.

As the stories unfold, readers will discover the real heroes of these books are the independent, hardscrabble, proud and hardworking people of Little Penwick, the farmers and fishermen, who are collectively known as Swamp Yankees.

Rainbow's End.png

All seems peaceful in Little Penwick, the smallest town in the smallest state. Then, Police Chief Gus Haddock is run off the road, someone shoots at the police station and the realization sets in …

She’s baaa-ack!

     Janine Stone, the Glitter Girl in Book One of James Y. Bartlett’s Swamp Yankee Mysteries, has returned to town and she’s looking for the pot of gold she was owed from the human smuggling ring she ran for the criminal element up in Providence.

     So Chief Haddock and the Little Penwick department start searching around town … for Janine … for the stash of money … for the local idiots Janine paid to shoot up the station.

     At the same time, Gus Haddock’s personal life is set aflame when his girlfriend, the Providence lawyer-turned-abused-women’s-advocate Maggie Wells announces she’s pregnant.

     It’s all in a day’s work for a Swamp Yankee like Gus Haddock in this exciting new small town police drama.


Who knew golf was such a deadly game?

Through most of his career as a journalist, James Y. Bartlett covered the game of golf. His specialty was the lifestyle of golf--travel, equipment, history and personalities.

The Hacker Golf Mystery series was designed to impart Bartlett's deep knowledge and love of the game in an enjoyable series of mysteries set in some of golf's most hallowed places. The Hacker mysteries take readers behind the scenes and inside the ropes of today's professional game.

The protagonist of the series is a golf writer for a major metro newspaper -- Hacker -- who follows the Tour, happens upon a murder and, using his wiles and knowledge of the insiders, helps solve the crime, usually before the last nine on Sunday!

Not since Dan Jenkins' Dead Solid Perfect has there been an author who brings humor and insight into the fictional world of professional golf.


Who gets the trophy for being dead?

The novel that begins the narrative arc of the Hacker series, Death at the Member-Guest starts with the prospect of a fun weekend of golf with the guys. But when the club president is found murdered in the cart barn, Hacker has another mystery to solve.

This one eventually gets back to the Boston Mob and takes some dark turns. But Hacker also meets the lovely Mary Jane, who appears in future books!

If you want to start the Hacker series, start here.

An Epic Historical Novel

YOTS with Medal.jpg

Defending hearth and home

A sad era in Scottish history, the Highland Clearances began at the beginning of the 19th century, when the Scottish clan chiefs suddenly found themselves turned into landlords who needed to find new income to support their urban lifestyles.

In this epic historical novel, author James Y. Bartlett has created a story that links several actual events spanning more than 50 years.

In telling this story, he has created brilliant characters, narrative tension and indigenous folklore from several cultures. The result is a stunning novel of depth that tells the story of a dark chapter in Scotland's long history.

bottom of page